• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Montreal Smoked Meat

Started by Smokin J, November 22, 2005, 01:44:23 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Smokin J

Hi Everyone

What a great forum.  I'm relatively new to smoking, but everything I have tried so far (salmon, turkey, ribs, etc.) has turned out well...largely thanks to some of the tips I have has found here!

My next mission:  Montreal Smoked Meat

Recipes seem to be heavily guarded secrets.  I haven't been able to find anything, but a friend found a recipe (i think on the net) for "curing a brisket into montreal smoked meat", but would like to compare it to another recipe, or find a tried and true one.  

Does anyone have a good recipe they would be willing to share?  

I'm new to this wonderful world of smoking...is there any etiquette for posting recipe's...IE  should I get permission before posting the recipe that I have?

Thanks!

Jay

JJC

Welcome, Jay!  I don't even know what Montreal Smoked Meat is, but be sure to let us know how you make out . . .

John
Newton MA
John
Newton MA

ritzdeliman

Montreal smoked meat is actually just smoked corned beef. you are correct as the recipe is a closly gaurded secret. The choice of meat however is either brisket plates or inside round. For mine I use brisket plates because they have more flavour and come out tender when smoked properly.cure as you would a corned beef and air dry overnite then prior to smoking rub it all over with montreal steak spice and smoke at 160-180 for the amount of time according to thickness and weight. Hope that helps. ritzdeliman

Thunder Fish

<font face="Impact"></font id="Impact">WOW thanks for the insight ritzdeliman
Terry

Oldman