• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Cure 1 or Mortons tender quick

Started by smokerbobrobb, January 01, 2012, 11:08:34 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

smokerbobrobb

We just purchased the Jim Beam Bradley yesterday and want to attempt smoking susage this fine New Years Day.  The only cure we could find was MTQ, can this be used instead of
cure #1?  Its a bit confusing because MTQ contains the Nitrite and nitrate.  Please help   

GusRobin

I'm far from an expert put here is a link to info on cures from the recipe site. Hope it helps.
http://www.susanminor.org/forums/showthread.php?736-Curing-Salts
"It ain't worth missing someone from your past- there is a reason they didn't make it to your future."

"Life is tough, it is even tougher when you are stupid"

Don't curse the storm, learn to dance in the rain.

smokerbobrobb

Thank you GusRobin wiill check the link out

Habanero Smoker

Hi smokerbobrobb;

Welcome to the forum. Gus has provided you with a link that give you the amounts of TQ to use for sausage. The major problem with using TQ for sausage is that you cannot control the salt amount.

If you are substituing TQ in a recipe that calls for Cure #1, you must add 1.5 teaspoons of TQ per pound of meat/fat, and also eliminate any salt that is called for in the recipe. When I use TQ in sausage, I like to let it cure for a couple of hours prior to placing it in the smoker (personal preference).

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

MidKnightRider

"A Constitution of Government once changed from Freedom, can never be restored. Liberty, once lost, is lost forever."John Adams
The Big Easy
OBS
ProQ Smoke Gererator
Little Chief Front Loader
Chair-Broil Electric Smoker
Thermos Gas Grill
http://www.susanminor.org/forums/index.php
BBQ Evangelist

anderson5420