Never smoked before

Started by JelloStorm, December 16, 2012, 06:32:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JelloStorm

Hey all!

My name is Bryan, and I'm from Northeast Pennsylvania and I suffer from a complete lack of good food.

I'm considering getting a Bradley 4-rack digital smoker, however I have never smoked anything before and to a complete noob it can all seem pretty overwhelming.

I'm a huge fan of Damon's baby-back ribs, but I think everyone is capable of doing their own and doing them better.

Yall may laugh, but I've been watching that BBQ Pitmasters show on TV and have been learning a lot and the food looks SOOO GOOD, that I want to just lick my LED TV  ;D

What are some good guides on how to do a few racks of ribs? I'd like to try a rack of dry rub and then a rack of BBQ and tinker a bit from there. I'm a big fan of the more tangy BBQ sauces, like Bullseye and Jack Daniels vs. sweeter sauces like Baby Ray's. That Jan's rub sounds interesting so I might give that a try at first. That Gunpowder rub also sounds very interesting...

Once I get the technique down, maybe come early April when Trout season starts give some game fish a try.

Thanks for any help guys!

Bryan

Keymaster

Welcome aboard Brian, Glad to have you here.

Silvergrizz

Gotta warn ya, I just started this October and I am now an addict. ;-)

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

GusRobin

Welcome. Others may disagree but if I was going to buy a 4 rack I would buy a non-digital 4 rack and buy A PID temperature controller. You will end up with tighter temp for fish and sausage.

Cabellas has it for $249 and the PID is on sale for 170 for a total $419 which is about what the digitals are going for. In my opinion you get the same benefits of the digital but tighter temp control.
"It ain't worth missing someone from your past- there is a reason they didn't make it to your future."

"Life is tough, it is even tougher when you are stupid"

Don't curse the storm, learn to dance in the rain.