Looking to get my first Bradley

Started by Quackerstacker, December 27, 2012, 12:48:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Quackerstacker

Hey, I've been using a weber charcoal smoker for 10 yrs now. Finally with having 2 kids I don't have time to babysit my smoker anymore. So in upgrading to a Bradley. I've done some basic investigating an in not really sure which model to get.  I originally was going to get the digital 6 rack so I could cook more meat but I've seen quite a few negative reviews saying to just get the original black non digital 4 rack. Can any one help me out with how much meat they both hold and any other tips for which to get and why? Like can I fit a whole brisket a a couple slabs of ribs in the original? Or a pork butt and a brisket?

beefmann

welcome aboard..

a lot depends on the cut of meat, while a pork shoulder, or ham quarter could be upwards of 25 lbs  and pretty much takes two racks all by them self i have  done 40 lbs of trimmed tri tip, 35 lbs of brisket trimmed down to fit on the 4 racks, done a 27 lb turkey by its self almost filling my 4 rack..

bottom line it depends on the type of meat, how it is cut compared to the volume of the smoker. for a family of 4 and  15 to 20 guests a 4 rack would do nicely with the sides being made else where.

for me i have done bbq get together , 35 guests, 25 lbs of pork for pulled pork in my 4 rack, 6 quarts of baked beans in a crock pot, corn on the cob  in another 2 - 7 quart crock pots, dips , chips, drinks in a 100 quart ice chest.

hope this helps

Quackerstacker

Thank you! Would you say the original one is the way to go? I've seen a few negative reviews on the temp set range on the digital ones?

beefmann