• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Dried beef recipe

Started by tailfeathers, November 21, 2013, 12:22:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

tailfeathers

Anybody have a recipe for cured and smoked dried beef?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Where there's smoke, there's HAPPINESS!!!

deadeye51224

I have one from the Rytek Kutas book that I have been using for a couple of years.  Just got my BDS last week and have a batch in it right now as the first use of the BDS.

Cure (5 lbs. meat):

2 1/2 gallons ice water
1/2 cup Instacure #1
1 1/2 cups salt  (I use Kosher salt)
1 1/2 cups powdered dextrose

Pump trimmed beef with brine, then place beef in the brine and cure at 38 degrees for 10-14 days.

After curing soak meat for several hours, changing water every hour. (I usually do two changes of water)

Put beef in stockinettes....and let drip dry

Here is the recommended recipe:

10 hours at 100-110 degrees with no smoke
12 hours at 100-110 degrees with smoke
6 hours at 120 degrees with no smoke
7 hours at 130 degrees with no smoke

I always used to just stick the cured meat in the Weber Bullit and cook it to 155 IT.  But it kind of had that acrid smoke flavor.  And a lot of babysitting.  And it's not true dried beef.

Now with BDS, the low set point on temperature is 120 degrees, but with the large temperature overshoot ( mine seems to be -20/+10) I'm hoping it will come out ok.  We'll see.  I already ordered a PID to get better temp control.

I grew up in Midwest with dried beef, and here in New England they look at you with a quizzical expression when ask about dried beef at the meat counter, so I resorted to making my own.  I don't dare put any out on a meat platter at get togethers, because it gets wolfed down and they ask for more until it's all gone!!!
Witty saying to be plagiarized shortly...

deadeye51224