Bad smoker or smokee?

Started by smokingbear, April 16, 2015, 09:52:17 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

smokingbear

EDIT: This is not a rant or complaint, but asking advise from those experienced whether to return/exchange the unit.

So I am completely new to this, so it might be all my fault.  That said, I've had nothing but problems since I opened the box, and come my fourth smoke nothing it working.  I hope after 3 months Cabala's/Bradley will exchange, because I am enjoying the process.

1) Opening box, saw the feed tube receptacle was bent, fixed it see http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=36145.msg414678#msg414678

2) 1st and 2nd smokes proceed normally

3) 3rd smoke, the feeding stopped 30 minutes in (based on one puck in the water bowl, 1 acrid on the burner ), though I didn't know this until 3 hours in.  Investigating the source of a foul smelling ashtray, I discovered why the pucks need to be extinguished in water after 20 minutes.  I moved the feed tube until i felt a click and they began advancing normally.

3b) I separate the major parts and cleaned the unit, using compressed air for the electronic unit, light soap and water on removable pan/bowl/racks.  Reassembled.  All seemed fine.

4) Today, my 4th smoke.  Feeding stop after 1 hour, moved it around, started again.  6 hours later, the "Oven Temp" is 70F and the meat and interior portions (via infrared thermometer) were 70-85F, even though the "oven timer" still reads 2:50 and 220F (Temp Setting).  When the oven died I don't know, but the "oven temp" did read 170 earlier.  The outside air temperature was about 70 when I started, and high today was 75. In previous smokes the "oven temp" was +/- 20 of the "temp setting" virtual equal toward the end