• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Proper vent usage

Started by wilbur747, January 10, 2007, 02:56:33 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

wilbur747

Hello to all!
My wife bought me...I mean us a smoker for Christmas and so far I've smoked a salmon and turkey.  They both turned out great, especially since I have no experience in hot smoking.  I followed several members' suggestions and for that I am truly grateful.

I have a question about the proper use of the vent.  How do I use it properly when hot smoking? I know that if there's smoke coming from the gap between the smoke generator and the tower I need to open the vent a little.  Where I'm confused is the proper vent opening when I hot smoke.  Is there a 'rule of thumb' I should follow when smoking certain foods? When I hot smoke a chicken/turkey/pork/beef loin, etc, how do I know how far to open the vent? Do I open it fully for fish and close it for a pork loin or vice-versa? I moslty hot smoke my food. Are there certain vent settings for the type of food I smoke?

Sorry for the 'stupid' questions, but I need to know!

Wildcat

Welcome to the forum.  As far as I am concerned, the only "stupid" question is the one not asked.  Even if it seems stupid, do not worry.  We all have brain farts once in a while.  Just look at some of my posts.

Back to your question - If a food needs to be dried out some, or has excessive moisture, such as chicken, then open up the vent.  As a general rule, 1/3 is what I would recommend for most foods.  When it comes to beef, then I would open it just enough to stop smoke from backing up because beef has little moisture and can dry out easily.
Life is short. Smile while you still have teeth.

CLICK HERE for Recipe Site:  http://www.susanminor.org/

Habanero Smoker