• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Pork and Chicken together

Started by Joel, June 15, 2007, 05:32:12 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Joel

I just purchased a boneless pork shoulder 12.5 lbs. I'm wanting to cook 3 whole chickens also. We are having family over for a party Sunday around 3pm. I was wondering if someone could give me some instuctions on how to go about this, do I put them both in together or start one and add the other later. Do both cook at the same temp? I'm new at this but learning all the time. Any help I would appreciate.
Thanks

West Coast Kansan

I would do the pork on Saturday and the chickens on Sunday.  The pork will rest nice and the smoke flavor is better the next day IMO. Just put the pork in the fridge wrapped / covered real good after you FTC for a couple of hours. 

Allow yourself plenty of time for 3 whole chickens.  Like 5 hours plus your margin. Preheat to 250 and put the water bowl with hot water in when you start the smoke and install the food. Keep the vent open full for the first half of the smoke and then no more than half closed. Keep the door closed and use an internal thermometer.

If you use chicken crowns and no cans that will help with the cook time as well. 

Click On Link For Our Time Tested And Proven Recipes and Register at this site for Tuesday Night Chat Room Chat is FUN!

NOW THAT'S A SMOKED OYSTER (and some scallops)

Joel

Thanks for the fast reply.One more thing I would like the pork to be pulled pork, at what temp should I FTC. Thanks

hillbillysmoker

May the fragrance of thin blue smoke always grace your backyard.

Click On The Smoker For Our Time Tested And Proven Recipes

manxman

I do 185F internal meat temp, seen various posts here ranging from around 175F to 195F.  :)
Manxman

West Coast Kansan