• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

My Newbie Mistakes.

Started by Kansas City Kid, December 26, 2007, 08:36:43 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Kansas City Kid

Hi All,
  I'm new to the OBS world and I have only posted a couple other times. I smoked 2 briskets for Christmas and just thought I'd take a second to share some of my mistakes so other new people may learn from them.

Although my end briskets came out really good, I made some errors along the way. 
My first mistake was letting the water bowl run dry around the 3 or 4 hour marker. I'm not sure when it went dry, but at the 4 hour marker I had a dry bowl full of hot puck ash. I refilled it but I worried the rest of the day if I had dried the brisket out or not. So make sure you keep an eye on that water bowl.

Second I had two thermometer probes going. One for internal meat temp and one for smoker temp (because I was told not to trust the door thermometer)  The One I lowered through the top vent to take the internal temp was actually resting with its tip touching the meat.  It took me two hours to figure out why the cabinet temp was only 20 degrees higher then the cold meat.  Once I got the probe in its own space all worked well (and was dead on with the door temp)

This third one still baffels me. I stuck the probe in the meat from the very begining. The temp climbed as it cooked but seemed to come to a standstill around 150 to 160 degrees. (well not a stand still but got very hard to get it to climb any higher after 150).  I took a second probe and stuck the meat in several other locations and they were all around 170 or 180.. For some reason the thermometer in that one particular spot we just very stubborn. If I had waited for that one spot to reach 190 I would have had brisket crumbs instead of slices.   So if your internal temp stalls or is not climbing after a while, you might think about re-sticking it with the probe.