• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

My first try at ribs

Started by Smoking Duck, April 22, 2008, 10:50:01 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Smoking Duck

OK guys and gals...... this is my first try at ribs as I wanted to wait until my PID was good to go.  Just put them in about 15 minutes ago.  Running with 3 hours of pecan/oak combo on the smoke.

Here's my question:

I've read some will then foil after the smoke is finished and some don't.  Are there any pros/cons to foiling or not foiling?  And, if you do foil, are they wrapped tightly or loosely to finish up the cooking in the Bradley?  Can't figure out which way to go and I'd like for these to come out edible if at all possible.....my daughter has been begging me to do ribs and I'd like to see her be able to eat some of them anyways  ;D

Thanks!

SD

Steeler....she's a keeper!

Who doesn't love lab puppies?

Click here for my blog: La Cosa Smokestra

Wildcat

Have not experimented with ribs much.  I have done 6 batches of them.  The first go round I did not cook enough and they turned out kind of chewy.  After that I smoked for 3 hours and then continued to cook until the meat started pulling back from the bones.  I spritzed with apple juice anytime I opened the door.  I then FTC'd until almost dinner time (a couple of hours), then put Ice's sauce on them and kind of partially dried them on a hot grill.  Always turned out great.
Life is short. Smile while you still have teeth.

CLICK HERE for Recipe Site:  http://www.susanminor.org/

Smoking Duck

So you don't use foil when you do ribs, Wildcat?  And the come out pretty good?  I'm thinking the less work for me, the better, so not sure if I want to foil or not.  This is a small load (5 lbs) so I figure about 6 hours oughta do it.

Mr Walleye

Marc