• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

New guy with a dumb question

Started by Deflated, September 02, 2008, 04:48:27 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Deflated

Hey everyone,

I'm brand new to the smoker community and over the holiday weekend I bought a new OBS at Cabela's.  I had my first "successful" smoke yesterday.  I did some spare ribs and they seem to have come out pretty well.  The problem I'm having is with the smoker itself.  I assembled it, plugged it in and was in the process of seasoning it when I noticed the power indicator light on the box wasn't on.  Well at this point I already had good smoke going and figured it was just a bad light.  Did the season and then about an hour later I put the ribs in.  Everything seemed to be going fine accept I had to keep the temperature on high the whole time just to keep it between 200 and 225. 

Tonight I plugged everything back in and tested it out to see if everything was working properly.  I noticed after having everything on for about 2 min the only thing producing heat was the smoker and not the heating element in the box.   I have a hard time believing the smoker itself was able to get the temperature up to over 200 in the box.  I might be wrong but that just doesn't seem possible. 

Well just to test to see if the heating element in the box worked, I plugged the power cord from the outlet straight into the back of the box and within maybe 10 sec I could see a nice dull red glow.  Anyone have any suggestions as to what could be wrong?  Also, would it harm anything to just run a separate cord to the back of the box just so I can get the heating element to work?  Any and all help is greatly appreciated.

Matt

Wildcat