• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

HELP!!

Started by goomba, August 27, 2008, 11:38:05 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

goomba

I have smoked a lot on an offset smoker, but this is my first try with the Bradley 4 rack so please bear with this rookie. How long should it take for me to smoke 3 racks of wings with about 4 pucks set on high?

I also have now been cooking for an hour and a half and my temp has peaked out at 178. I made the mistake of not preheating the unit, but you would think after all this time it would get to at least 200. I'm using a good digital sensor dropped down through the top air vent to about half way down the unit. The stat on the unit reads within a degree or two of my digital....If I can't get 200 out of this new smoker I'm sending it back so I need all the help you professionals can give me. I'm also a retired electrician so I promise power is not an issue....thank you

www.PapaMikeT.com
Papa Mike

Ed1978

1 puck of bisquete is about 20 minutes so 4 pucks would be about 80 minutes. But your would only get 2 pucks. The other two will not be pushed to the burner plate. That's just how Bradley works. Many people buys 2 or 3 "Bubba pucks", which is basically a fake puck made out of a light metal, to remedy this. Or you can just put two extra pucks. So if you want to smoke using 4 pucks, you put 6 pucks instead. You could recover the last two pucks and reuse next time after you're done smoking.

I think 80 minutes of smoking should be enough for chicken wings. You can continue cooking them in the Bradley or move them to your house oven.