• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Rib question!

Started by csakis, December 17, 2008, 03:45:38 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

csakis

Hi!
I am new to smoking. This is my second smoke. I am doing spare ribs. I had enough meat to fill two shelves completely. I started smoking by pre-heating the smoker to 250 F. I placed the shelves with the ribs in the smoker and smoked them for 3.5 hr with cherry. I rotated the racks once at the 1.5 hr mark. It has been 4 hr since I started to smoke them and my temperature in the smoker is still only 190 F. It has been on full blast since I started. It is a pretty calm day outside, no wind with a temperature of 40 F. Is it normal that with two full racks of ribs the smoker can not get up to 210 F even after 4 hours?

csaba

Smoking Duck

It does seem to be taking quite a bit of time but two racks is a decent amount of meat in the cabinet.  Do you have a brick in the bottom to utilize as a heat sink?  If not, I highly recommend it.  To be honest though, I smoke my ribs at 205-210 max anyways, so the temp wouldn't bother me.

Do you have an OBS or a DBS?  Are you utilizing a remote thermometer to monitor smoker temp or are you relying on the door probe?  Let me know more about your smoker and I'll try to help you more.

SD

Steeler....she's a keeper!

Who doesn't love lab puppies?

Click here for my blog: La Cosa Smokestra

csakis

Thank you for the quick response. I am using the Original Smoker. I am using an accurate digital thermometer, just on the level of the bottom shelf. I am not using a brick, but I will "install" one for the next smoking, which will be a brisket. Actually the temperature reading on the cabinet thermometer and my digital are very close to each other.

Mr Walleye

Csaba