unburned pucks

Started by oopseadaisy, July 31, 2010, 09:12:46 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

oopseadaisy

Hi, I'm a newbie with the Bradley and have noted inconsistant burning of the pucks.  One will be consumed completely and only ashes drop into the bowl, then the next puck is only blackened on the bottom and is still whole and has uncharred wood on the top.  During a 4 hour smoke yesterday, I put in 12 pucks and when it was done 6 of them were still whole in the bowl and only half burnt.

am I doing something wrong or is this a timer issue on the puck advance?

thanks in advance for any suggestions.  jack

RAF128

You're not alone.   That's common on Bradley digitals.   Mine has done it all along.   I also have an OBS and it seems to burn the pucks more completely.   I can't give you an answer why but my opinion is the burner on the OBS seems to burn hotter.   The only advice I can give you is make sure the burner is clean and without any residue and preheat the smoke generator but you start advancing pucks.   It helps a bit.

DTAggie

As RAF, said, always turn on the SG when preheating the cabinet, then put pucks in when you get ready to put meat in.  Always clean the burner area with a wire brush before each use.  I have an OBS and every one in a while a puck or two will not burn as completely as the others.

JT-MO

Moisture in the pucks maybe? Are they opened from a previous use and then you put new opened ones in with them?

My OBS burns them all pretty good, completely black top and bottom.

boxofrain

I get a few here and there that have a very small amount of "wood" left as well.
Butt, I live on the S. Oregon coast and it is a bit moist most of the time, so I figured that was my issue.
the memories of a man in his old age, are the deeds of a man in his prime

classicrockgriller

The softer woods my smoker will burn all the way.

I do/have a problem with Jim Bean pucks. (Special Blends does this sometimes too.)