oops

Started by don24, January 23, 2011, 04:24:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

don24

so iwas making the cure that habanero smoker uses for Canadian bacon (my first time by the way)and i miss read the amounts. when it said to use 1 tbs spoon of curing salt i did that but continued to measure at 1tbs instead of 1tsp for other ingredients (garlic,brown sugar,onion)when i realized my mistake i adjusted my curing salt up to compensate for the 3x increase in other ingredients .now i have alot of extra mixture ,is this a good general cure can i use it for say regular porkbelly or other pork cuts. i think its fine to do but I'm a rookie and its only a stupid question if i don't ask,that's what i tell my self anyway .so stop laughing at me and answer please any suggestions of uses would be nice to.

GusRobin

There is no stupid question or stupid action that you can do that someone else probably didn't already ask or do. We don't take ourselves too seriously so yes you may get laughed WITH but not AT.
With all that said, I don't have a clue as to the answer but it is something I would like to know for the next time I screw up the measurement. I am sure one of the curing experts will be along soon.
"It ain't worth missing someone from your past- there is a reason they didn't make it to your future."

"Life is tough, it is even tougher when you are stupid"

Don't curse the storm, learn to dance in the rain.

Up In Smoke

Don,
were you mixing the cure? or are you actually curing a piece of meat?
2 Bradley OBS
Some people are like Slinkies... They're really good for nothing.
...But they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs.

don24

i mixed to use .i started a canadian bacon but have tons of mixture left.Im cofident that the ratios are correct now its just that i have so much left over.

squirtthecat

I'd say if the ratios are correct and you are 100% sure it was evenly mixed - it would be OK to use again..

don24