heat regulation? Help!

Started by thoswo, June 13, 2011, 01:51:13 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

thoswo

I am new to the OBS and have only used a few times.  I am hoping you can help me out.  My issue is maintaining the heat in the smoker.  I pre-heat the smoker to 200 degrees.  I then place ribs (I fill three of the four racks) and the water tray in the smoker.  The problem is that the temperature inside the smoker then drops to 100 - 150 degrees and takes an hour or so to get back up to the correct heat.   Yesterday I was running behind, threw the ribs and water tray in when the smoker was only at 100 degrees in the hope it would heat up, but it never did get above 110 degrees in 2 hours. 

Excluding the operator being a bit of a knucklehead yesterday, do you have any thoughts on how to regulate the heat, or is this simply "the way it is..."   Thanks, Thoswo

GusRobin

the Bradley takes a while to get to temp. That's one of the reasons it is called "low and slow" cooking. Here are some things you can do:
1) Put boiling (or close to it) water in the water tray
2) Don't open the door to peek
3) Put a preheated brick (some wrap in foil) in the bottom to act as a heat sink
4) Let the meat sit for an hour or to to get to room temp prior to putting it in the smoker
5) Run the smoke generator the whole time
6) Keep vent open (lets out moisture)
7) get a remote thermometer
8) add a second element.

I do, # 1,4,6,7,8 and have no prolems. I always run with the vent wide open.
The reason for the remote thermometer is that the door temp probe is unrealiable once you put meat in the cabinet. You may or may not be reading the correct temp if the meat is blocking the heat path to the probe.
"It ain't worth missing someone from your past- there is a reason they didn't make it to your future."

"Life is tough, it is even tougher when you are stupid"

Don't curse the storm, learn to dance in the rain.

Hopefull Romantic