• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Hatch Farms Jalepeno powder

Started by JF7FSU, June 29, 2011, 03:14:55 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

JF7FSU

Hey everyone, I just got in some XXX-Hot Hatch Farms Jalepeno Powder and Chipotle Powder.    I am looking for some guidance on how much of this stuff to use in GB jerky and what if anything to mix it with and how much?   I am looking at doing a 5Lb load and want it hot and flavorful.  I was thinking about just the powder and water, but I am thinking there needs to be something else in the mix?
Posted via Tapatalk - iPhone

Hamburgertoday

I'm no pro here but just on my third batch of jerky myself.  Although I am a professional chef and happen to be from New Mexico you are thinking exactly where I was.  eventually I will make a batch of green chile jerky.  here are my thoughts (nothing tried just yet).
* I'd prob start with about 1/4 cup of green chile powder.
* 2 Tablespoon fresh thyme leaves chopped fine (when I cook w/ green chiles I find that the thyme actually punches up the flavor of green chile a bit so it's not just pure heat)
* maybe 1/2 cup tomato juice (V8 might provide a good base) and a simple brine of 1/2 cup water + 1 Tablespoon Kosher salt + 1 Tablespoon sugar.
*1/4 cup to 1/2 cup of kikkoman Lime ponzu or regular ponzu (this will contribute salt and lime flavors plus a bit of umami)
* lots of garlic powder (i prefer powder over raw garlic because it provides much more control in many ways) - say 2 tablespoons of roasted garlic powder maybe.
* I'd also add about 2 Tablespoons of freshly cracked pepper - this should make the heat a little bit complex.
* I almost think that adding a touch of MSG might be a good idea for my batch although I've not played with it at all. I almost want to add a bouillon cube to my mix and will do some further research when I get to that point but I think the flavor would be awesome w/ one of these components.
* 1 teaspoon of cure #1