• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

ok, I just stepped in it, and I need yall's help

Started by Gordon, November 08, 2005, 03:58:31 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Gordon

I have volunteered to smoke the office turkey(s) this year.  [:0][:0]

I have about 40 people to feed.  I am planning on using apple to smoke,  and Olds, you being our version of Yoda, I respectfully request your help on amounts of turkey.  I know I can do two in the Bradley, I just don't know if that will be enough.  [B)]

I would also like to time the process to put the birds in FTC, then bring them out when ready to carve.

It has also been requested that I smoke the out-laws turkey too, but I figure I will use those special recycled kitty litter bisquettes for that.[:D]

Gordo

jb9

I'm no pro, but based on a recent experience, I'd say do 12 pound turkeys and cook 4. You might be able to get by with 3, but if everyone wants white meat, even 4 would be pushing it.

1-3 hours FTC would be good. You might want to do 2-3 hours of smoke on a pair ahead of time, then put them in the fridge until the big day. Then you could cook them in the oven at 220ish while you smoke the other two at the same temp. Seems to me they'd come out about the same.

SMOKEHOUSE ROB

just a thought, instead of whole birds( which take longer to cook) buy a bunch of breast to serve, if not, cut the turkeys in half like you do chickens,

BigSmoker

I agree with Rob on this one[;)].  I would also do some kind of test run ASAP to get a feel for the cooking times.  Good Luck and I'd go with the 4 turkeys.  If there are any leftovers I'm sure you will have volunteers lined up to help you out.

Jeff

Some say BBQ is in your blood, if thats true my blood must be BBQ sauce.
Some people say BBQ is in the blood, if thats true my blood must be BBQ sauce.

MallardWacker

Gordo,