• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Outside Temps

Started by BostonButthead, October 19, 2011, 06:26:41 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

BostonButthead

I have recently bought an OBS and live in the northeastern US. I'm new to using a smoker.

I have always grilled outside all year. I'm curious at what temperature does it usually become impossible to hot smoke and/or cold smoke with the OBS? Also note Boston is one of the windiest areas of the country.

I plan on replacing the heating element with the 900w. (It's currently sitting on the shelf daring me to wire it.)

Thanks.

GusRobin

the outside temps don't matter that much as does the wind. Preheat and you will be fine if you find a way to protect it against the wind. Some smoke in their garage (properly vented), buy a outdoor cabinet, or build something. But with having the 900 welement (or dual elements) the issue will be the wind.
"It ain't worth missing someone from your past- there is a reason they didn't make it to your future."

"Life is tough, it is even tougher when you are stupid"

Don't curse the storm, learn to dance in the rain.

CoreyMac

I don't know about the Bradley smokers but if it hits -30c here I'm thinking just going outside in the cold is going to make it impossible for me. ;D

Ka Honu

Quote from: CoreyMac on October 19, 2011, 06:44:16 AM-30c

Minus 30o??  That's not a temperature; temperatures are nice numbers between 70 and 90oF.  Lower numbers and (especially) negative numbers are not temperatures; they are evil representations of varying degrees of pain and misery.

Tenpoint5

Boston you will be fine even without an upgrade. Just try and keep the wind from blowing across the top of the unit. That will suck the heat out. Something as simple as a cardboard box opened up and sitting on top of the unit will do the trick.
Bacon is the Crack Cocaine of the Food World.