New to the board and smoking

Started by Sgood, January 31, 2012, 05:35:37 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sgood

Just picked up a DBS 6 rack and have seasoned it and am going to try my hand at some jerky in the morning. I have the venison sitting in the fridge w/ merinade and plan on smoking at 150 with about two hours of hickory. I am really new to smoking per say but, have smoked on a propane weber genesis for the last couple of years. I can do a good brisket and BBR on it but, never could pull off a pork shoulder. I am hoping the Bradley solves this problem for me.

I have some bubba pucks, frogmats (for jerky), a maverick ET-732, and some apple and mesquite bisquettes on order. Oh and some bear paws for when I perfect that pork shoulder. Is there anything else, I would need right away as a newby?

mikecorn.1

Welcome aboard.
Pretty much is
What I started with. About a year ago I got a PID and I have a fan kit coming. Will be here tomorrow or Thursday. Also I just got a thermapen last week. Oh and
Two days ago I got an LEM GUN  and accessories. :). Yeah get ready to spend some buck$ :)
Almost forgot. I also got an SRG and a Traeger pellet pooper.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
Mike

Salmonsmoker

Welcome Sgood. If you are looking for a thermapen by chance- from another forum: http://www.thermoworks.com/products/thermapen/splashproof_thermapen_open_box_sale.html   I got mine, looks brand new and has full warranty & works great. The price was still active this morning. Mikecorn...what kind of blower are you looking at/ I have the Auber single probe pid. Works great. I see now they have  a two probe. Another "must have"? ::)
Give a man a beer and he'll waste a day.
Teach him how to brew and he'll waste a lifetime.

SouthernSmoked

Welcome to the forum...Enjoy!

http://www.susanminor.org

Remember we like pic's!!
SouthernSmoked
WeQ4u - BBQ Team

KCBS CBJ
(2) - Stainless Steel 4 Rack's with Dual probe PID
1- Digital, 6 Rack
1-PBS