Trying ribs for first time

Started by nodak, January 21, 2006, 04:57:28 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

nodak

OK, just wanted run this by and see if I'm missing something here. How many hours of hickory smoke???

-smoke at 200F, just dry rub for me newbie
-2 hours of smoke?[?] Vent1/2 open?
-splash w/apple juice at 3+ hoursVent full open?
-cook to 187F
-FTC w/splash apple juice for 1 hr minimum mandatory[:)].
-eat, might grill one over hot flame first.
-Say I knew exactly what I was doing or blame you all if I mess up[:D],

"If you're not living on the edge, You're taking up way too much room, so get the he-- out of my way."

willis5

Hey, I hope they reply soon as I am a newbie myself. I did cook some ribs last weekend and I followed the recipe in the booklet that comes with the smoker. It said to pre-cook the ribs for 1 hr at 350 deg. and then smoke at 220deg for 3 hrs. That is what I did and the ribs were perfect. Meat was very esily pulled from the bone. I just think that if you put the raw ribs into the smoker to hot smoke/ cook them, you will have to leave them in there for a LONG time. Especially when you keep opening the unit to spray apple juice. I saw somewhere on here wher ethey said that every time you open, add 30 minutes to you cook time.
-Willis

IKnowWood

I am surely no expert.  I have been cooking ribs for a few years.  Mostly on the Grill with pans with wood chips (Pre-Bradley of course).  I preferred Baby-Backs as I like the taste and feel.  And think it takes the rub and any sauce I would use real nice.

I have made mistakes by using a rub that had to much sugar or sugary components.  It makes the ribs way to sweet.  

On the Bradley, I did similar to what my father-in-law did but a different recipe.  I am happy with my resuts.

Either case I never pre-cooked them in the oven or boiled.  I wanted a rub so did not want to pre-cook it or wash it off.