• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Dehydrator vs Smoke and Drying in Bradley

Started by Consooger, February 18, 2012, 03:15:58 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Consooger

As I am still new at this I am gathering a TON of knowledge about different ways to make jerky and other tasty treats. I begged and pleased with the fiance to get a smoker to make jerky and have not done so yet but am taking in all the knowledge I can before doing so. From everything I read it looks like I will be doing many other things than the jerky, but that's here nor there.

My question IS: For making my jerky can I effectively make a very good batch of jerky in my 6 rack without a dehydrator or should I go and beg and plead to buy a dehydrator as well. I see a lot of people on here smoke their jerky and then throw it in the dehydrator afterwards. I'm looking at the BEST option here. If I can get agood dehydrator for like $150-$200 and have it smoked first that leaves all the room to throw more meat into smoke and start that up.

Just looking for the best option here.

Thanks!

John
"Telling you to invest in smoking your own jerky because buying it so much was getting way too expensive was the worst thing I could have ever done to us, now look at the monster I have created!" :-)
               -My Wife

bundy

I use to smoke then dehydrate, now I just marinate and throw in the Cabela's Digital Dehydrator, comes out great.

muebe

The dehydrator has a fan to move all that moisture out fairly quickly and does that job well. They also maintain a even temp in those low temp ranges between 50F and 170F.

You can dehydrate in the Bradley but it will take longer and you will need to rotate the racks every 30 minutes to make sure everything dries evenly.

However I have a Bradley with a PID and a convection fan from a home oven. It does just as good of a job as my Cabelas dehydrator.
Natural Gas 4 burner stainless RED with auto-clean
2 TBEs(1 natural gas & 1 LP gas)