Newbie with some ?'s

Started by Chewbacca, October 23, 2012, 06:30:30 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Chewbacca

I have been doing "hobby" sausagemaking for a few years now. I usually am making something that consists mainly of venison. The last two times I have made summer sausage I have ended with two totally different results as far as meat consistency is concerned. The first batch from 2 weeks ago seemed to be a little too "watery" when I sliced into it after completion of smoking/blooming process. Last weeks batch seemed a little too dry and chewy. Is the moisture problem due to the amount of water used or is it the fat content? I changed quantities of each from one batch to the next. I'm not sure which one to alter to find the perfect moisture consistency.

Also, I see you guys always mention the hot water bath to finish the sausage. Can you explain to me the setup and process that is used for this method? I am sure this could cut several hours off the smoking time by using this method but I just need to know the equipment used to do the process.

I'm looking forward to getting to know each one of you on this great and informative site.

pmmpete

In order to kill the microbes which can cause food poisoning, the US Department of Agriculture and the Food Safety and Inspection Service recommend that ground beef, pork, and similar ground meat be cooked until it reaches any of the following combinations of internal temperature and time periods:

160 degrees - 1 second
155 degrees - 23 seconds
150 degrees - 72 seconds
145 degrees - 4 minutes
140 degrees - 12 minutes
135 degrees - 37 minutes
130 degrees - 121 minutes