• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Newbie - need some help with 4 rack Digital

Started by paulsnapp, January 16, 2013, 04:09:04 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

paulsnapp

I need a little help with temperatures for my smoker.  I have the Digital 4 Rack Smoker and an Auber Dual Probe PID.  What I tried was 150 for 20 min to warm up the smoker.  Put in the jerky.  140 for 1 hour to dry, turned meat at 30 min.  160 for 2.5 hours for Hickory Smoke.  Rotated racks on the hour. I then raised the temp to 175 and had the PID set for internal meat temp of 158.  Rotated the racks on the hour.  After 3 hours the internal meat temp was still only 126 so I raised the oven to 200.  Took almost another 1.5 hours for the internal meat to reach 158.  To me the jerky was all but ruined.  It was very hard and kind of charred at the edges.  I am a newbie so I must have screwed something up.  I did a batch earlier before I got the Auber PID and it came out better but I then read about how poor the Bradley temp controller is.  The first batch I did not monitor internal meat temp and have no idea if it got to 158.  I read on this forum that it was an important safety step to get 158 inside the meat.  Can someone suggest if my approach using the Auber PID settings are correct or I overcook the jerky?  Thanks!
Bradley 4 Rack Digital Smoker
Auber Dual Probe PID Controller
Second Heating Element Mod
Smoke and Stuff Fan Mod

GusRobin

I can only state what I do.First, I don't control the PID by the temp of the jerky. In fact I don't think I ever have taken the temp of any jerky I have made.
I put it in and set the PID to control cabinet temp at 130 for 1.5 hrs, then 140 for an hr, 150 for 1 hr, 160 for 1 hr and 170 until done. I consider it done when it bends but not break. So starting when I start the cycle at 160 I check it a lot.
"It ain't worth missing someone from your past- there is a reason they didn't make it to your future."