Any suggestions for a newbie ???

Started by Game-smoker, December 27, 2012, 05:00:45 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Game-smoker

Hey guy's, I just got a 6 rack electric Bradley as a present for Xmas. I have limited experience smoking foods and have really only done some jerky in the past with a little chief I have. Is there any advise you guys can offer to a newbie just starting out such as additional equipment I might need. I'm an experienced cook and avid hunter and want to use the smoker to its fullest potential . I plan on using it on my wild game such as venison, elk, boar, fowl, upland but also want to try it on domestic animals and cheese. Any basic suggestions to to me started would be much appreciated.

GusRobin

There are a number of "nice to haves": --a PID controller, and 2nd element , cold smoke adapter comes to mind. The only "must have" in my opinion is a remote thermometer. (many use Maverick 732, but there are cheaper options). And even that can be done without.

So that leaves adult beverages.
"It ain't worth missing someone from your past- there is a reason they didn't make it to your future."

"Life is tough, it is even tougher when you are stupid"

Don't curse the storm, learn to dance in the rain.

Game-smoker

Thanks for the suggestions, I have been looking into a good thermometer as I hear that is one of the more important items. ....... A good cold beverage or two is a necessity while I wait.

STLstyle

Quote from: GusRobin on December 27, 2012, 05:04:26 PM
There are a number of "nice to haves": --a PID controller, and 2nd element , cold smoke adapter comes to mind. The only "must have" in my opinion is a remote thermometer. (many use Maverick 732, but there are cheaper options). And even that can be done without.

I agree.  I'd get a maverick 732 first, then decide on other mods if you determine necessary.  I too have a 6 rack and now have dual elements and PID, but take your time, use it straight out the box and see what you think.