• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Newbie Smoker from Hamilton, Ontario

Started by Networx, December 26, 2013, 07:20:29 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Networx

Best. Christmas. Present. Ever!!! I'm new to smoking and really looking forward to learning how to make my own BBQ. I was given the basic model, the BTIS1.  I seasoned the smoker yesterday and today I'm trying two three pound pork butts for our first Pulled Pork.  My first question is, how many pucks do I put in the smoker for a recipe that says it will take 10-12 hours?  I have about 19 left after the seasoning process so I've just loaded those all up. Do I just let them get used and then let the smoke do it's job for the remainder of the time needed?
Any help would be appreciated.  Thanks.

KyNola

First of all congratulations on your smoker.  About 4 hours of smoke is all you will need so 14 pucks.(The last 2 are to push the last spent one into the water).  Don't depend on a "time" recipe.  You need to go by the internal temperature of the meat, 190-200 degrees.  Also, do not be surprised when the internal temp on the meat stalls at some where around 160 for a few hours.  That is normal.  Resist the urge to bump up the temp in order to make the  internal temp of the meat start rising again.  Smoke/cook the   butts at around 225.  Preheat your smoker prior to putting the meat in the tower.  Also, be prepared for it to take quite a while for the heat in your tower to recover.  Opening the door loses all of the heat and the cold butts will absorb all of the heat your Bradley is trying to generate.  Lastly, make sure your water bowl stays full of water.  After the 4 hour smoke period, empty the bowl of the spent pucks and refill with water.

Others more knowledgeable than me will come along to give you better advice.

tailfeathers