• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Smoking length

Started by newtennsmoker, July 26, 2014, 07:01:45 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

newtennsmoker

Why does the Bradley smoker only go up to 9 hours of smoking time? I thought that "low and sloooooow" was the best way, especially on Boston butts which you may want to smoke for 12-14 hours? I'm new at this game and my cousin has a monster cast iron wood and charcoal smoker and he sometimes take 16 hours to smoke anywhere from 6-8 butts at a time. Is time basically based on the total lbs being smoked?  Thank you.

Quarlow

Actually I think the record for butts in a Bradley is somewhere around 34 hrs. I can't tell you why they only go 9 hrs but that is plenty of time to last overnight. You probably would never be away from it that long so you can easily just reset it. My last butt took 21 hrs so I reset it twice. No biggie. Low and slow is the way for sure and the best bark and flavor comes with time.
While weight can effect the amount of time in the beginning as it will take longer to get up to temp butt the real decider is the connective tissue in the meat. It takes time to break down the tissue and low and slow is the only way. You must be patient and wait it out. You will get a stale in temp drop around mmmmmm having trouble remembering I think it is 140 don't quote me. Someone will correct me. It can take quite awhile for it to start climbing again. Be patient and it will come out awesome.
Welcome to the forum. Any question s just ask.
I like to walk threw life on the path of least resistance. But sometimes the path needs a good kick in the ass.

OBS
BBQ
One Big Easy, plus one in a box.

Wildcat