Hello from Lorette, Manitoba Canada

Started by Blizzard_101, December 11, 2014, 06:28:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Blizzard_101

I am very new to smoking, so new that I don't even have a smoker yet, not anymore anyway! I have been involved with making smokers for over 10 years and gave up MINE to another customer; note this was a totally non profit adventure with a great friend of mine who smokes some of the best meats I have ever tasted although there is one exception; while camping in Lake Bronson MN, a friendly MN camper was smoking meat in the campsite and gifted a full, freshly smoked rack of pork ribs and a loin to me and my family; they were amazing! He smoked them in what could have been a Bradley smoker, I am not sure, but it was, barr non, the best pork I have ever eaten. I don't know the recipe, if any as he said he was using a "piece of oak".  In any event I am hooked on the taste and need to do some of my own smoking, just need to find a good quality, portable but not too small smoker. Any suggestions???

ragweed

Welcome to the forum from Nebraska!  I recommend a New Bradley Original Smoker (BS611).  That's what I plan to purchase when my "old" Original Bradley Smoker goes to its final reward.  I've had it now for 6 years.  Still going strong.

Habanero Smoker

Hi Blizzard_101;

Welcome to the forum.

The fact that he stated he used a piece of oak, leads me to believe it may not have been a Bradley. Bradley uses bisquettes, and if he was using a Bradley the common term/slang would have been he was using oak pucks. Having said that, I have a few charcoal cookers, and the best pulled pork comes from my Bradley, using pecan.

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

Smoker John

Bradley Digital 4 Rack
Bradley BS712

Blizzard_101