• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Genealogy

Started by Habanero Smoker, January 21, 2007, 04:49:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Habanero Smoker

Hi Manxman;

I didn't want to hijack the Cold thread, so I started a new topic. I have similiar problem that MWS had. My family members rarely talked about the past, and I have very little oral history to go by.

I've been using Ancestry.Com a lot. I got a free 9 month subscription when I purchased Family Tree Deluxe software. For the U.S. they have different levels of memberships, and you have to pay a lot more to access certain information. I've been mainly searching the U.S. census, and Social Security Death Indexes. If your relatives were in the U.S. prior to 1930, you may find them in one of the federal census. You also may want to try www.FamilySearch.org . That is the site maintained the Latter Day Saints; Mormons. They have a lot of useful information on how to do research, and you can search there data base online for information about your family. They travel around the world collecting genealogy information, so you might find something useful on their site, and it's all free.

I've learned a few things since November about the online census. I have found at times there were mistakes made by the persons indexing the data; and I believe there are a lot of omissions. On more than one occasion I have found a family by searching for a child rather than the parent, because of misspelling by the person inputting the data. Fortunately I live 40 miles from a National Archive Center that has the Federal Records on microfilm, so I am planning a trip there. Not only the census, but I will have access to military pension records from the Revolutionary War up to the Philippine Insurrection. They also have the immigration records for all port entries in the U.S.