• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Need help for a new special friend

Started by KyNola, July 02, 2007, 08:30:23 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

KyNola

I know I'm a newbie, don't even have my DBS that I've ordered but tonight I was at a friend's house and was telling him about ordering the DBS.  He said he thought his neighbor had a smoker like I had on order.  We went to see what he had.  Here is where I met a new special friend.  He is in a wheelchair, a former firefighter in my hometown.  He has a 8-9 year old OBS.  He told me it has started to have problems feeding the puck completely on the burn chamber.  I cleaned the surface of the chute into the smoking chamber as well as where the feed tube goes into the pusher.  I don't know if that's all it needed or not.  There was no bulge on the puck burner surface(thanks to you guys that's the first thing I looked for).  Any other suggestions?  This guy put his life on the line for my hometown, making his OBS work correctly is the very least I can do.  He wants to change to a DBS eventually. Thanks for any suggestions.

Habanero Smoker

Hi KyNola;

Welcome to the forum.

Is your friend still having the same problem with the generator? Was there any improvement in performance? A better description of the actual problem, would be helpful for members to help you trouble shoot. Does the mechanism advance at all? Does it work properly if you manually advance the pucks? Does it advance part way then something appears to be obstructing movement? Does it seem to run smoothly, but only advances part way; pushing the puck halfway to the burner? Or any other advise you can give us.

The problem could be one or several of the following, dirty track that is blocking the mechanism from fully advancing, stripped gear in the motor, or the motor mechanism may be out of sync. Being that it is 9 years old, the problem could be serious, but hopefully it just needs a good cleaning.