Newbie here, Can't get Smoker Hot Enough Anymore

Started by romulus, September 23, 2007, 01:45:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

romulus

Have used the smoker about a dozen times, and can no longer get the temp over 150 degrees.  I even took the drip grade out to see if it was blocking the heat.  Any suggestions on what I can do to get the temp back up again?  thanks very much

Habanero Smoker

Providing more information would be useful. Such as what are you smoking, and the size of your load.

Have you changed outlets that you plug you smoker into, or added more appliances to that line. If so, try plugging the smoker back into the outlet you use to use. The outlet you are using, may have too many appliances during power from it.

If you are running your generator, then it seems that the generator is the only element that is producing heat. Check the quartz element. Is the quartz heating element glowing red? If not check your fuse in the back of the generator. Also check to see that the screws holding the element are snug, but don't over tighten them.

Check the front face plate and look above the temperature controller. Is there a crack above it? If so moisture may have seeped in and damaged you circuit board. You may have to order a new one.

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

romulus

just checked and there is a crack in the front face plate, have zero idea how that would get cracked. 
This is the only thing plugged into the outlet.
And was just smoking a brisket.  Afraid that I may have to get a new circuit board.

NePaSmoKer

Quote from: romulus on September 23, 2007, 02:28:10 PM
just checked and there is a crack in the front face plate, have zero idea how that would get cracked. 
This is the only thing plugged into the outlet.
And was just smoking a brisket.  Afraid that I may have to get a new circuit board.

Habs is right

I have heard of this happening to others on the forum.