• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

New to Smoking

Started by daddyo, January 31, 2008, 12:17:11 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

daddyo

Hello everyone

I'm new to smoking and I seem to be having a hard time trying to post things too, maybe it's just not my day
today.  Anyway I have tried  the Bradley Smoked Salmon,  my next project is to try ribs. If anyone has any ideas or
sugggestion they would be welcome.

Thanks

Mr Walleye

Hi Daddyo and welcome to the forum.

There is lots of great advice with regards to ribs on the forum. Here is a thread that has some good info.
http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=5436.0

Everybody has a little different idea of how they like their ribs. Some like the meat falling off the bone while others want some pull left there. The first thing I feel you should do is make sure you monitor the tower temps and not rely on the built in thermometer. Myself.... I like them pretty much falling off the bone but not dried out. I typically put 3 hours of apple smoke at 220 degrees, then let them stay in the BS at that temp for another hour or so with out smoke. Next I put them in a foil roaster pan with a shot of apple juice, cover with foil and either fire them back in the BS for another 4 hours or so at the same temps. Some people do this step in the oven and at times I do as well.

Anyway... Good Luck

Mike

Click On The Smoker For Our Time Tested And Proven Recipes

daddyo

Thanks  Mr Walleye

I like my ribs falling off the bone too, and so do my little girls easier for them to eat, I also have a couple of other
questions, are there any particular kinds that you prefere, pork or beef, side or back???  I also have questions about
curing salt, can I use what they call pickling salt, or is any coarse salt OK,  and about this cane sugar I can't seem to find it in the stores here,  cold I use "raw" sugar instead??  Any help is appreciated  Thanks again

Kane

hey daddyo,