• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Leaving Generator on

Started by mtlinda, January 12, 2008, 11:42:04 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mtlinda

I'm a newbie and I've been lurking for about 2 weeks, since I got my OBS.  But now I have a question.  I've noticed on occassions it has been suggested to leave the generator on during cooking after the smoking process is finished.  Is there a reason for this?  If so, when should you?
Thanks!  I'm not sure I would have had the nerve to even start using the OBS without having this forum.  I have my first butts smoking right now.  This is so exciting!
mtlinda

Mr Walleye

Hi mtlinda and welcome to the forum.

Lots of people leave the smoke generator on for the additional heat it supplies. The main element is 500 watts and the puck burner is 125 watts so by leaving it on you have about 25% more heat. This can be a benefit depending on what your smoking and how much you have in the smoker.

Mike

Click On The Smoker For Our Time Tested And Proven Recipes

mtlinda

Thanks Mike,
That makes sense, good to know.  Right now I have maintaining at 210, but it did take awhile to get there.
Linda

Mr Walleye

Low & slow... the recipe for success!  ;)

Whatcha smokin'?

Mike

mtlinda

It's actually 2 pork shoulders.  One about 5lbs and the other 6.  ITs at 165, now, has been for about 3 hours.  I can't believe how exciting this is!
But now I know why you should do most of the cooking at night, while you sleep, when you can't be tempted to open and look.  I've been good so far, but it is driving me crazy!!
I just come in and read more of the past posts to keep busy.
We decided the chicken rolls are on the menu for next weekend.  Love the pictures.
Linda

Mr Walleye

Quote from: mtlinda on January 12, 2008, 02:25:35 PM
It's actually 2 pork shoulders.  One about 5lbs and the other 6.  ITs at 165, now, has been for about 3 hours.  I can't believe how exciting this is!