Did I wreck my bacon?

Started by vicat, April 22, 2008, 10:18:57 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

vicat

Hi all, I'm a newbie here.
I just put my second batch of Canadian bacon in the smoker ( the first batch was fantastic). I am using Habs recipe using the Prague powder cure. Problem is I may have screwed up. I put the meat in a 3 gallon bucket of cold water (lid on outside). Thing is I left the meat in the water for three hours instead of the thirty minutes as specified in Hab's recipe.
Have I washed the cure or favor out?

Mr Walleye

To my understanding it will be fine. I assume you have cured it for 6 or 7 days. The extra soak time will reduce the salt taste and flavour though but I don't think it will effect the cure becasue it has already taken place. Hopefully others will chime in as well on this.

Mike

Click On The Smoker For Our Time Tested And Proven Recipes

vicat

Thanks Mike,

after the long soak the meat it was just as firm as when I took it out of the fridge with six days curing. The flavor is probably washed out...I just hope they will taste ok.

Frank 

pensrock

I agree with Mike, The bacon should be fine but not as much salt taste as the other one. You may want to coat with maple syrup or cracked pepper to pump up the flavor a little. I always rub the loin with maple before putting into the smoker, everyone loves it. I also use the cracked pepper on mine.

Habanero Smoker

I agree with Mike and Pensrock. The only thing else I would do is let the bacon rest over night in the refrigerator to allow the salts to redistribute themselves equally.

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

La Quinta

OK...guys...I have 5lbs of bacon (belly) dry curing in the fridge for a week...I'm nervous as hell...used...MTQ 2.5 TBLS per slab...read alot of posts...worried I may have gone a little light on the MTQ...but I'm not a big salt fan...am I ok?

Gizmo

LQ were your slabs around 2.5 lbs?  You should be fine.