• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

My First Time

Started by LBird33, July 29, 2008, 05:08:58 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

LBird33

This past weekend, I used my Original Smoker for the first time.  I am a Chef and I have some real BBQ restuarant experience and my friend who worked with me is also a chef with BBQ experience.  Still we were a little worried about how everything would go especially since I was cooking for my company office party of 40 people.  It had to go right.  And boy did it!!!

The first day, we cooked 50 45 pounds of Brisket.  We alternated mesquite and applewood bisquettes.  We rubbed the meat with mustard and seasoned it up with a famous BBQ Champions's Spice Rub.  We loaded up the machine and let it rip.  It did take about 2 plus hours to get to 150 degrees and then several more before to get to 200 degrees.  We were patient.  We closely watched the machine.  We changed the water in the drip pan.  The key was really just to let it do its thing and be patient.  We expected it to go all day.  Once the oven hit 200, we knew we were on our way.  After 12 hours we pulled it and it was marvelous.  We both agreed it was arguable the best brisket we have ever had.  We couldn't wait to do pork butt he next day.  We repeated the process and did 35 pounds of pork butt.  After 10-11 hours, it was ready to come out.  We let it rest then we pulled the meat.  Again, the flavor was ridiculous.  Many people at the party said it was the best BBQ they ever had.  We also did portobellos and hot smoked salmon which were both great.  I hope the machine holds up!  Maybe we got lucky.  I expected more trouble based on the many posts I've read here.  Pics to follow if someone can tell me how to insert them.

deb415611

Welcome LBird33

If you look at the 6th post on this page  http://forum.bradleysmoker.com/index.php?topic=7553.15   FLBentRider did a little tutorial on how to post pictures.

Deb

Mr Walleye

Welcome to the forum LBird!