Need info on smoking hot peppers

Started by SemperFiPhil, April 19, 2009, 12:54:51 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

SemperFiPhil

Since I am new to all this, I need info on how to smoke habaneros and Japalenos.  Please let me know.  The final end product I want to make is hot pepper powder.  Thanks again all.

pensrock

I slice them in half and place on the racks. Put into a preheated smoker @ 180-200 F. Then apply 2-3 hours of the wood of your choice, mine is hickory. Then into the dehydrator. Allow to cool well overnight, this will also allow more moisture to be drawn out, then grind into powder.

Click pic to enlarge

Forgot to add, rotate trays from top to bottom and front to back during the smoking process.

Habanero Smoker

I prepare mine similar to Pens method, except for habaneros I just make slits in them. I don't have a dehydrator so I dry them completely in the smoker at 140°F; using a temperature control device. Or move them to my oven which has a dehydrating feature. My choice of wood is pecan.

I
         don't
                   inhale.
  ::)

Up In Smoke

WARNING,
use gloves when handling fresh peppers, the oils get into your skin and no matter how many times you wash your hands
if you make weedle your little buddy will get really hot!!!
Please don't ask me how i know.
2 Bradley OBS
Some people are like Slinkies... They're really good for nothing.
...But they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down the stairs.

SemperFiPhil

Thanks for the input!  I do not have a dehydrator, so I guess it's up to the smoker.  In the past, I have just seeded the habaneros and left them out.  (That's one of the many beauties of Nevada... dry, dry dry.)  As far as using gloves, I never do.  I will say I have paid for it in the past, but not very often.  Since I grew up on hot peppers, I know to be careful.  (I probably have downed more hot peppers than any one man should.) 

Thanks for the input! 

Habanero Smoker