brisket questions

Started by moses, September 29, 2009, 04:24:32 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

moses

i have a whole brisket straight off the cow. the cow was butcherd saturday. i want to start the smoke friday or saturday when should i add the rub? and is cooking it a week of the cow to soon should i let it sit in the fridge another week or two?

Wildcat

I am by no means an expert, but IMHO beef is better after some aging. When you do get ready to smoke/cook, apply rub the day before.
Life is short. Smile while you still have teeth.

CLICK HERE for Recipe Site:  http://www.susanminor.org/

HawkeyeSmokes

I would rub it down at least the night before smoking. As far as aging it, I don't think I would go over 10 days at home unless it has been vacuum sealed.
HawkeyeSmokes

classicrockgriller

Fresh brisket, moses you have to take pics of that and post them.   CRG

OU812

Most of the beef we eat has ben aged for 2 weeks at about 38 F be for its even cut off the side.

Keep us posted how the FRESH beef turns out.

I my self dont put a rub on my brisket, just a little slat, pepper, onion and garlic powder when I pull it out of the fridge and when it quits sweating I through that bad boy in the smoker. But to each there own.

Wildcat

Quote from: OU812 on September 29, 2009, 04:51:09 PM
I my self dont put a rub on my brisket, just a little slat, pepper, onion and garlic powder when I pull it out of the fridge and when it quits sweating I through that bad boy in the smoker. But to each there own.

Same here. I apply olive oil then salt, pepper, garlic and onion.
Life is short. Smile while you still have teeth.

CLICK HERE for Recipe Site:  http://www.susanminor.org/

moses