Questions about smoke???

Started by deadeye, March 10, 2005, 02:43:40 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

deadeye

I am still a newbie with my Bradley but I am learning and reading as much as I can. I made a pork butt roast this weekend and it was the best I have ever had. I did have a question though?? Like on this pork butt roast. I smoked it with apple chips like the recipe called for and did the ftc thing also. It just does not seem to have that smoky of a taste untill the next day. I started out my smoker out at 225 at 5am and took it off at 3pm. I smoked it for 5 hours. Should I lower the temp of the bradley to say 150 or so at 1st, for the 1st 4 or 5 hours then increase it. Would that give me a more smoke flavor. i was just wondering if maybe I am getting the outside of the meat too hot to fast for the smoke. Does that make sense??

Thanks guys I really appreciate it.

Derek Canada

jaeger

Derek,
I don't think you had the temp to hot. I would first try a different wood, like maybe hickory. Everyone has different tastes. The nice thing with the Bradley is the variety of woods. Give that a try first. Also, make sure your damper is 3/4 closed during your smoke.
......BTW, mesquite is the strongest wood. To strong for most. Also known as the "devils wood"[}:)][}:)][;)]

<font size="4"><b>Doug</b></font id="size4">

Habanero Smoker

I agree with Jaeger. Everyone's tastes are different, so try other woods, or try mixings woods. For example for every 2 apple use 1 hickory. Another reason could be is that you may not have had enough "bark" mixed with the portion of pork you ate. The bark is the surface of the meat where the seasonings and smoke are concentrated. I chop the bark up as fine as I can so that it will mix well with the pulled pork.