Original vs. Digital

Started by samtc, December 29, 2009, 08:31:09 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

samtc

Hi All,

I have been using a Cajun Cooker for several years and literally wore it out.  My wife gave me the Original Bradley Smoker for Christmas.  Not being familiar with the Bradley, I have spent a couple of days reading and it seems the biggest issue is temperature control. Before I commit to the OBS, I have a few questions.

1. Has anyone out there moved from the OBS to the DBS and found the Digital worth the difference?
2. Is an external temperature controller and the OSB a better solution?
3. I have been intrigued by those making sausage and would like to give it a try.  Is OBS a good starter unit?

Thanks,

NePaSmoKer

Quote from: samtc on December 29, 2009, 08:31:09 AM
Hi All,

I have been using a Cajun Cooker for several years and literally wore it out.  My wife gave me the Original Bradley Smoker for Christmas.  Not being familiar with the Bradley, I have spent a couple of days reading and it seems the biggest issue is temperature control. Before I commit to the OBS, I have a few questions.

1. Has anyone out there moved from the OBS to the DBS and found the Digital worth the difference?
2. Is an external temperature controller and the OSB a better solution?
3. I have been intrigued by those making sausage and would like to give it a try.  Is OBS a good starter unit?

Thanks,

I have both the OBS with a PID and a 6 rack DBS that can use the PID. If your going to do sausage the Auber PID is a must.

The OBS is a great starter, you will love it. You can hang or rack the sausage.

nepas

FLBentRider

W E L C O M E  to the Forum samtc!

I have the OBS and it has been great for me.

You can make great food with the OBS without a PID, getting the hang of temp control has a slight learning curve.