• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Ribs not up to par

Started by Nibby4239, January 18, 2010, 10:37:53 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

Nibby4239

I smoked 3 racks of BBribs yesterday. Total of 10.5 lbs. I preheated to 257 degs. according to my Maverick with 2 wrapped bricks inside. put in my ribs on top 3 racks. Went with 3 hours of smoke. After nearly 4 hours my cabinet heat was up to just 201 deg. The slider was on high. I removed ribs and wrapped in foil with apple juice. Put in preheated oven at 250 deg. for 1 hour. Unwrapped and put on the sauce  and back in the OBS , which was at 261 deg, for another 1-1/2 hrs. Heat dropped  down but gradually climbed back up to 210 deg. I had to pull them as we had company for dinner and it was that time. Result-- tasty but not FTB. Conclusion the OSB as standard can not handle that much BBribs in the customary 5 hrs. My first BBribs were perfect but it was only 2 slabs. These were FTB.

Now I am studying all the post I can find about adding another element. Since I am not using a PID , I am thinking of just adding the element thru a swicth. That way I can manually turn on when the a boost is needed to get the heat up. Any thoughts will be appreciated. I see Yard and Pool mentioned frequently for Bradley parts but is it in the states of Canada? I am in South Carolina.   Nibby

NePaSmoKer

Sorry to hear your BBR didnt come out as you liked.

Y&P is located in Frederick Maryland.

FLBentRider

I have not done the 3-2-1 per se, but I find that large loads take more time.

I rely on visual clues such as the ribs pulling back from the bone.

and I have under cooked and over cooked ribs.

I use the house oven after the smoke. It's higher wattage holds the temps better.
Click on the Ribs for Our Time tested and Proven Recipes!

Original Bradley Smoker with Dual probe PID
2 x Bradley Propane Smokers
MAK 2 Star General
BBQ Evangelist!

Tenpoint5