• Welcome to BRADLEY SMOKER | "Taste the Great Outdoors".

Help with pulled pork for 75 people

Started by cfunk25, April 29, 2010, 11:50:16 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

cfunk25

Okay so I need some help.  I have a 6 rack digital bradley smoker.  I am going to make 40 lbs pork butts for 75 people as I am serving hot dogs and slopping joes for my son's graduation.  From reading I see that is too much to do at once so I was going to do 2 batches.  I have to prepare the pork this weekend because of the limited time I have.  So graduation is May 8th and I was going to take the time this weekend to do 2 batches.  How long will it take to do a 20lb batch of pork butts?  What should I set my smoker and temp on?  I do have a digital thermometer to monitor the IT.  I am pretty new at smoking probably used my smoker half a doz time.  Should I brine them or just rub them?  Do I use the FTC method to store them for a week?  Or should I wait to do it 3 or 4 days prior? HELP

db14

cfunk, I am by no means an expert as I am preparing for my first run at this also, but have been asking some of these same questions (under "Meat" and "Trial run at pulled pork").  I can aswer a few of these for you and let the experts take you the rest of the way.
There is no set cooking time, but 1.5 hours per pound is a guidline.  They are done when the IT says they are.
There are two schools of though on the temp from what I gather.  One is the normal low and slow with the cabinet temp (CT) around 210F.  The other is the Turbo cook at abotu 250F.
You can brine if you would like, but it is not necessary.  A rub would be sufficient.  Check out the recipe site for plenty of suggestions.