Pulled Pork Reheat?

Started by Timo, May 27, 2010, 06:27:29 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Timo

I have made three different Pork Shoulders over the past 2-3 weeks.  I made a great rub that I got on the forum here and they turned out great with some hickory smoke.  I shredded and then vacuum packed and froze with the food saver.  These are for my son's graduation party next Saturday June 5Th. 

My question is how do I reheat them, and/or serve them?  When I shredded the pulled pork, it was incredible tasting, but didn't have much juice.  I want the pulled pork to be juicy and last during the our 4 hr grad party for our guests....

Any help would be appreciated on how to reheat, make juice, and presentation.....

I appreciate the help!! Happy Smoking this weekend and remember our troops!

shoresdiver

I'm no expert, only recently having acquired my OBS, and having only put 4 shoulders through it to date (and therefore bow to the other members who have lived this for years)  But -

I have had good luck foil wrapping the pulled pork, adding some apple juice (about 1/4 inch in the bottom of the foil 'boat'), and putting it in a 350 F oven to reheat.  I think I have also read posts that suggested using a slow cooker.

Good luck, and congrats to your son on graduating!

seajams

I usually use the slow cooker and add my BBQ sauce at this point.  Mix will and it will heat up fine.  I then add more sauce to taste when putting on the bun.  The sauce adds more flavor than just using water or apple juice.

shoresdiver

I agree with Seajams -- sauce is a better way to go.  I have to accommodate several people with taste buds which cant take the spicy sauce that I like, hence the juice, so everyone gets the sauce they like. ;D ;D

Tenpoint5