What did I do wrong?

Started by MNIceman, July 03, 2010, 06:36:42 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

MNIceman

Hello,

This is my first post and my first smoke.  I tried making a batch of Jaegers Beef sticks, but they ended up gray on the inside.  My thermometer read 165, and I had some fat out, but they are still gray.  Are they safe to eat?  Any help is appreciated.
Also is it normal for the meat to turn gray while you are stuffing?

FLBentRider

W E L C O M E  to the Forum MNIceman!

I am by no means a sausage expert, but someone should be along shortly.

In the meantime, a few questions:

1. Was there cure in your recipe?

2. Could you post the recipe and cooking plan you followed?
Click on the Ribs for Our Time tested and Proven Recipes!

Original Bradley Smoker with Dual probe PID
2 x Bradley Propane Smokers
MAK 2 Star General
BBQ Evangelist!

MNIceman

NePaSmoKer

To answer your questions.

No they should not be gray.

Did you rely on the door thermo? If so dont depend on it. To do sausage you will need a probe thermo or a thermapen to get the correct IT of the sausage.. IT meaning, InternalTemp of the meat.

Not to worry we have all had our OOPS. My advise is to toss the gray sticks. Yeah i know $$ but better safe than sorry.

Try getting some cure #1 for the next batch.

Also can you post what FLB said, steps you took.

I better add that when you use cure #1 its 1 level tsp per 5 lbs of meat. MTQ should be 7 1/2 tsp per 5 lbs.

MNIceman

Thanks for the quick replies!

I was pretty much planning on tossing these.

I followed the ingredients in the recipe.

Mixed, then stuffed into 19mm casings using my grinder and stuffing tube (not impressed with that, will need to invest in a stuffer)
Preheated my BDS to 140
spread sticks on the racks so they were not touching (other than the bends)
set temp to 150
3 hours of hickory smoke
at 2 hours i opened door to rotate racks, insert temp probe and check water
Set temp to 180 left for another 1.5-2 hours