Been asked to do pork chops

Started by Sorce, October 17, 2010, 07:05:57 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Sorce

Tonight I got a call from my mother, apparently my dad visited some family and had some grilled frozen smoke chops they bought somewhere (what a disgrace...). Well he really liked them so I've been tasked with smoking some chops for them this week. (My wife and I were planning on cooking chops this week anyway, weird right?) Anyway I hadn't planned on smoking the ones we were going to make, I've done pretty well just on the grill in the past. So here is my problem, I've never done chops before and really don't want to screw something up that I could have done on the grill just fine.

So I'm looking for advice. What should I use marinade/brine wise, I don't want to cure them. Also from what I've seen general consensus seems to be to an it of 150-160, is that right. Any help here would be much appreciated.

hal4uk

Man, I dunno.... 
Every time I ask a pork chop how it wants to leave this world...
It just grins and says, "Breaded and fried in a skillet".
No Swine Left Behind KCBS BBQ Team
Peoria Custom Cookers "Meat Monster"
Lang Clone - 'Blue October'
Original Bradley Smoker
MAK 1 Star General
Traeger Lil' Tex
Backwoods Chubby

Tiny Tim

From my experience, the purchased smoked chops are cured then smoked to a "done" IT, similar to a ham. 

I've been wanting to put some chops in a brine for up to overnight, then smoke them to almost done, then a nice sear on a grill or in a pan, but haven't gotten around to it.

Wish I could be more help.

Habanero Smoker

If the smoked pork chops had a ham like flavor, then as TT stated they were cured. I also find that commercially smoked pork chops are cured and fully cooked, so that may be the flavor he is looking for.