Jerky Questions

Started by DADAKOTA, October 06, 2010, 07:04:07 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

DADAKOTA

I have been making jerky in the dehydrator (with fan) for many years.  I dehydrate the whole muscle jerky at 155 for give or take 4 hours.  I have never used a cure in my recipe and not had any issues.  Folks beg for jerky.  Had several offer to buy all the meat and ingredients if I'd give them 50% of the finished product.

Wanting to use the OBS to make a batch and hopefully make the jerky even better.  I am planning on trying to get the OBS up to 155 and start the smoke.  Figure about 4 -5 hours is this about correct?  How long should I put the smoke to it?  Do I need to rotate the racks?  Top to bottom?  Front to back?  Am I crazy for not incorporating a cure?  Thanks in advance for the help.

Nepa - What kind of slicing knife is that and where could a feller get one?

FLBentRider

I use the obs to apply smoke to my jerky, and then into the dehydrator.

How much salt is in your jerky seasonings?

I would start with an hour of smoke and adjust up from there.
Click on the Ribs for Our Time tested and Proven Recipes!

Original Bradley Smoker with Dual probe PID
2 x Bradley Propane Smokers
MAK 2 Star General
BBQ Evangelist!

BigJohnT

I have a pretty good soy based jerky recipe here...

John

NePaSmoKer

Quote from: DADAKOTA on October 06, 2010, 07:04:07 AM
I have been making jerky in the dehydrator (with fan) for many years.  I dehydrate the whole muscle jerky at 155 for give or take 4 hours.  I have never used a cure in my recipe and not had any issues.  Folks beg for jerky.  Had several offer to buy all the meat and ingredients if I'd give them 50% of the finished product.