brand new to this

Started by mildeer, July 02, 2005, 12:58:31 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

mildeer

I just bought a Bradley Stainless steel smoker and so far so good.I have a question tho,when they say to cook for 13 hours do you do that with the smoke off and only the heat on?Also what is FTC?Like I said I am brand new at this.

Larry Miller

nsxbill

Once you turn it on leave both the tower and smoke generator on for the entire time.  Apply smoke for max 4 hrs.  Try to remember you are not  using an oven.  Try to keep the cook temp low and cook slow.  Chicken about 1.5-2hrs of smoke is plenty.  I do chicken at 265° for only a couple of hours, and usually brown up on a gas grill with sauce after smoking.  The smoker doesn't leave the skin crisp, so the browning after fixes that problem and gives a little more color to the chicken.

Change out your water every 4 hours, and make sure you have the top vent cracked about 1/4 to 1/3 a slot open.  

Best way to control is with a Maverick ET-73 to adjust manually.  I have the BBQ Guru Procom 4 and Raptor.  If I have large batches and they are equal size, it will automatically control both of by SS Bradleys at once so I am not out sliding switch back and forth all day.  You will be out with your smoker much of the time during your first smoke.  Try to keep that door closed, and no peeking!  Beer on hand helps!

Enjoy!

Bill

<i>There is room on earth for all God's creatures....on my plate next to the mashed potatoes.</i>
There is room on earth for all God's creatures....right on my plate next to the mashed potatoes.

jaeger

Welcome to the boards mildeer!!!
Let us know what's smokin'!!!

<font size="4"><b>Doug</b></font id="size4">

Oldman