First jerky question of probabaly many

Started by steve-o, October 23, 2010, 10:49:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

steve-o

Hi all, I am hoping to try making jerky tomorrow for the first time and I am getting conflicting thoughts on which way to slice the meat, some say with the grain other say against the grain. I am relatively new to using my bradley just used it for smoked salmon so far. Also I have heard freezin the meat for a bit makes it easier to cut, how long in the freezer approx? Thanks

Tenpoint5

I myself am a against the grain person. Makes the jerky easier to chew. I would suggest putting the meat in the freezer for 30-45 minutes. You dont want to freeze it solid you just want it to be stiff.
Bacon is the Crack Cocaine of the Food World.

Be careful about calling yourself and EXPERT! An ex is a has-been, and a spurt is a drip under pressure!

KevinG

Cutting with the grain tends to make it more chewy, while against the grain will make it break apart more easily. If you do chill it, don't freeze it solid, just get it cold enough where it's firm, that way it'll cut easier. Time depends on the size of meat, so just check it every 15 minutes or so.
Rodney Dangerfield got his material from watching me.
Learn to hunt deer www.lulu.com/mediabyKevinG

Slamdunk

Hi Steve o and welcome to the forum - I see this is your first post.

As you can see from the first two replies to your question, both ways are popular. So, why don't you try both against and with the grain and see which you prefer. I think those with "younger, sharper" teeth prefer with the grain, and those, like me, prefer across the grain so we can "gum" it!!

More importantly for a first timer, is to remember to both rotate your racks ie: front to back and rotate the racks themselves ie: bottom rack to top, top rack to bottom and switch the middle two racks, thus giving an even temperature for all the jerky.