3 butts

Started by hktkct, October 20, 2010, 07:24:43 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

hktkct

I will be smoking 3 butts for a Sat. afternoon get together, butts will weigh between 8 and 10lbs,  I will be cooking at 225 deg. can anyone give me an idea how long you think they will take,,I was thinking around 24-30 hrs. does that sound close? I am still new at this..thanks

Brisket Lover

Sounds about right to me

RAF128

Every butt is a little different.   Might be right and maybe not.    Watch the IT.     Start it on Friday afternoon.    If it's done a little early FTC.

DTAggie

I would plan on 30.  Rotate them top/bottom and front/back.  You always FTC or even pull and reheat if necessary.

GusRobin

Quote from: RAF128 on October 20, 2010, 07:27:47 PM
    Start it on Friday afternoon.    

Starting at noon on Friday with a 30 hour cook  you are looking at 6:00pm Saturday plus if you FTC (recommended) you could be looking at 8:00pm with a stubborn butt. You just never know. To be safe, if it was me I would figure out the time you want to eat, subtract 2 hours for FTC, and then subtract 30 hours. So if you want to eat at 2:00 on Saturday, start around 6:00am on Friday (if my math is right). As said you can always FTC longer if it gets done early. If too early you can always pull and then put in a crock pot on low to keep warm. But a well wrapped FTC can keep it fo 4-6hrs, especially with 3 butts.
"It ain't worth missing someone from your past- there is a reason they didn't make it to your future."

"Life is tough, it is even tougher when you are stupid"

Don't curse the storm, learn to dance in the rain.

FLBentRider

I've done four butts in the OBS and I don't think they will take quite that long, but then there have been people here with one butt that takes that long.

When I do that many, I usually start the evening before and they are done the next afternoon.
Click on the Ribs for Our Time tested and Proven Recipes!

Original Bradley Smoker with Dual probe PID