Ordered the parts, now stand by for questions.

Started by SoCalBuilder, January 17, 2011, 11:38:36 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

SoCalBuilder

I finally ordered up the parts for the second element on my OBS. I use the PID so I figured I'd take the easy way out and just wire the new element to the outlet on the back of the Bradley. I did order the additional fuse and the sensor. I also ordered a replacement shield (just in case) and the wire and connectors from Allied Kenco. I never saw a wire size mentioned, but after looking at the connectors that were spec'd, I went with #12.

Once I get it torn apart and re-read all the info here on the forum, I hope it all makes sense. Being a wood-butcher by trade, I generally hire someone that is more tolerant to electrical shocks than I am to do anything connected to a wire; but I'll give it a shot :o

While the credit card was still warmed up, I ordered some more Mies and four more jars of pickles ;D Tasty stuff!

jimmyb

I'm right there with you. Have all of the parts except for the wire. Had to order that online. Let us know how you make out and if you found any gotchas. I did cut the hole for the switch and snapped that in but that's as far as I got without the wire. I recall a #14 wire on the original post from Habs on this but #12 will do.

TestRocket

Good luck you two! And help is but only a question away!   ;D

beefmann

12 ga wire is a bit heavier and  will carry more capacity, 14 is a little lighter and carries  less, as long as the wire you  ordered is high temp over wire you  should be fine. 

Habanero Smoker

Take lots of digital pictures of the wiring for reference, before taking anything apart.