help with smoking whole chicken

Started by jack and coke, February 24, 2011, 05:06:21 AM

Previous topic - Next topic

jack and coke

After work today I plan on buying 2 chickens to smoke on Friday.  I have never done chicken before.  Can any of you guys send me a link from this site with help?  of if you have any knowledge on this please post your input. 

Cooking temp
good wood flavor to use
brines

Thank you

KyNola

Cooking temp= as high as you can roll, hopefully can get to 250F
Wood flavor= hickory or apple
Most of the chicken I purchase has already been injected with something when processed so I don't brine anymore.

Biggest tip I can give you is make sure the vent is open 100% to let the vast amount of moisture from the chicken escape.

Caneyscud

So what's not great about smoked whole chicken?  Imagine one of those bland/dry Sunday night roasted chickens your mom used to make, but now moist, tender and bathed in flavorful smoke, wonderful warm spices and slow cooked to the point where it melts in your mouth. Wowzers, now I'm hungry!!!  I really think that smoking chicken is the way chicken was meant to be cooked - well except for Hot Fried.  

There will be several ideas come forward.  The last few birds, I have spatchcocked - and I'm sold on the technique.  That is cut out the backbone and spread out flat.  Gotten very good and moist results using the technique.  Google spatchcock chicken and there are youtube's to show you how - actually quite easy especially if you have a good pair of poultry shears and a sharp knife.

Temps - I usually keep Cabinet temp 225 to 250 until the thickest portion is at 160 to 165.  Some like it hotter to "crisp" up the skin - but I won't risk a dried up bird for a crispier skin.  Some will finish inside in the oven or on a grill or Big Easy to crisp up the skin.